Contact IR|IR Map
:: Home>About us>Boards and Councils

Boards and Councils


Board of Directors
Fiscal Council
Chief Executive Officer:  José da Costa Carvalho Neto
Electrical Engineer and Master in Electrical Engineering by the Federal University of Minas Gerais, José da Costa Carvalho Neto was the Deputy Secretary of Mines and Energy of Minas Gerais, in 1987, and was the Chairman of Companhia Energética de Minas Gerais (Cemig) between July 1998 and January 1999. Also at Cemig, where he started as a trainee in 1966, he was Chief Distribution Officer, from 1991 to 1997, and held the offices of Superintendent, Department and Division Manager. He was a professor in Power Plants subject at Pontifical Catholic University-MG, from 1970 up to 1977. At private enterprise, he held the offices of CEO of Arcadis Logos Energia, Member of the Board of Directors of Logos Engenharia and Enerconsult and Director of Orteng Equipamentos e Sistemas.
Chief Administration Officer:  Manoel Aguinaldo Guimarães (Interim Director)
Manoel Aguinaldo Guimarães has a degree in Accounting from Unigranrio and a MBA in Management of Quality Systems from Coppe/UFRJ and MBA in Leadership and Management of State-owned Companies from Funcoge. He developed much of his professional career at Coppe/UFRJ, where he played the role of Assistant of the Board of Directors, Director of Administration and Finance, General Coordinator of Contests. He was a General Superintendent of Postgraduate Studies and Administrative Superintendent of the Forum of Science and Culture at UFRJ. He has been at Eletrobras since 2003, where he acted as an Assistant of the Presidency, Adviser and General Coordinator of the Board of Directors, and as an interim President of Ceron, which is currently Eletrobras Distribuição Rondônia (Eletrobras Distribution Rondônia), in 2006.
Chief Distribution Officer:  Pedro Carlos Hosken Vieira

Graduation in Management at Face/Fumec (MG), with several specialization courses in Brazil and abroad. Company employee at Companhia Energética de Minas Gerais S/A (Cemig), since August 2003, where used to hold the position of controller. From May 2008 on, he is the Financial Director of Eletrobras energy distribution companies: Eletrobras Amazonas Energia, Eletrobras Distribution Roraima, Eletrobras Distribution Rondônia, Eletrobras Distribution Acre, Eletrobras Distribution Piauí and Eletrobras Distribution Alagoas. In April 2010, he started holding the positions of Chief Distribution Officer and, concurrently, CEO of the Eletrobras distributors.

Chief Financial and Investor Relations:  Armando Casado de Araujo

Armando Casado de Araujo is bachelor in Business Management, graduated at the Mathematical, Administrative and Social Sciences University in Brasília. He has a graduate specialization in Financial Management at PUC/RJ, Executive MBA in Finances and post-graduation at IBMEC, and International Executive APG MBA at Amaná-Key. He has over 30 years experience in the electrical area. Before becoming Eletrobras Chief Financial and Investor Relations Officer, he was an assistant in the same board since June 2008.

Chief Generation Officer:  Valter Luiz Cardeal de Souza
Member of Eletrobras’s management team since January 2003, Mr. Cardeal’s career in the electricity sector spans more than 30 years. He is an employee of Companhia Estadual de Energia Elétrica do Rio Grande do Sul (CEEE) since 1971, where he was Director of the Generation, Transmission and Distribution areas. He holds a degree in Electrical Engineering and Electronics from Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul.
Chief Transmission Officer:  José Antonio Muniz Lopes
Member of Eletrobras’s management team since March 2008. The Chief Transmission Officer was President of Eletrobras, from 2008 to 2011, of Eletrobras Eletronorte, from 1996 to 2003, and of Eletrobras Chesf, from 1992 to 1993. He was also Chief Financial and Administrative Officer of Eletrobras Chesf, and held the positions of General Coordinator of the Officer of the President, and Director of Planning and Engineering at Eletrobras Eletronorte. In 1994, he was Executive Secretary to the Ministry of Mines and Energy during the recovery planning for Centrais Elétricas Mato-Grossenses S.A. (Cemat) and Companhia Energética do Piauí (Eletrobras Distribution Piauí). Mr. Muniz Lopes has a degree in Electrical Engineering from Universidade Federal de Pernambuco.
Board of Directors
  Marcio Pereira Zimmerman (chairman)
See resume  -  [pdf - 96 KB]
  João Antônio Lian
  José Antonio Corrêa Coimbra
See resume  -  [pdf - 7 KB]
  José da Costa Carvalho Neto
See resume  -  [pdf - 21 KB]
  Lindemberg de Lima Bezerra
See resume  -  [pdf - 7 KB]
  Marcelo Gasparino da Silva
See resume  -  [pdf - 252 KB]
  Maurício Muniz Barretto de Carvalho
See resume  -  [pdf - 20 KB]
  Thadeu Figueiredo Rocha
See resume  -  [pdf - 170 KB]
  Wagner Bittencourt de Oliveira
See resume  -  [pdf - 36 KB]
Fiscal Council
  Charles Carvalho Guedes - Titular
  Danilo de Jesus Vieira Furtado - Titular
  Fernando Cézar Maia - Deputy
  Hailton Madureira de Almeida
  Hailton Madureira de Almeida (alternate director of the financial specialist)
  Jairez Eloi de Souza - Deputy
  Jarbas Raimundo de Aldano Matos (titular member)
  Josmar Cesta Bignotto
  Manuel Jeremias Leite Caldas
  Manuel Jeremias Leite Caldas (titular member)
  Omar Felipe Fonseca Angelino
  Ricardo de Paula Monteiro - Deputy
  Robert Juenemann
  Talita Borges do Carmo - Deputy

Central Office: Av. Presidente Vargas, 409/13º andar, Centro
Rio de Janeiro, 20071-003 | Tel.: (21) 2514-5151

Copyright ® Eletrobras, 2010
AccessibilityCode of Ethics | Privacy Politics

Page access count image
Page access count image